Mississippi has eight (8) distinct types of alcoholic beverage licenses. Depending on your establishment you will need one or more of the following:
There are many eligibility requirements to be permitted to sell alcoholic beverages in Mississippi. These requirements differ depending on what license you are seeking to obtain. Common requirements include:
– You must be at least 21 years old.
– You must be a resident of the Mississippi.
– You cannot have a felony conviction in any state.
– You must not have any unpaid taxes or outstanding debts to the state.
To read a full list of the requirements for each license, please read the Mississippi’s Alcohol Beverage Control Laws, Rules, and Regulations document on the Department of Revenue website
Mississippi may require the following information during the application process. They may also request documentation any time after the license has been issued.
All forms and applications can be found Here
The entire process from submission of the application to issuance of the license usually takes between 1 and 4 Months to complete. However, if issues arise during the application process the time can easily be extended for 6 months or longer.
If you are planning to open a new establishment, you should apply for the license at least 6 months before the planned opening.
Once you obtain a liquor license you will be required to comply with ongoing liquor laws and regulations. These include but re not limited to:
– Complying with legal hours of operation for alcohol sales
– Complying with employment restrictions
– Preventing underage alcohol sales
– Renewing your license as required, usually on an annual basis
– Paying all applicable maintenance fees.
Obtaining a liquor license in Mississippi can be a complex and lengthy process, but it is a crucial step for anyone looking to operate a business involving alcoholic beverages. The specific steps and requirements may vary depending on the type of license you are applying for and your location, so it’s essential to work closely with the Mississippi Alcoholic Beverage Control Division and consult with legal and business professionals as needed.
This article is based on information available as of October of 2023, and liquor laws and regulations may change. Always verify the most up-to-date requirements and processes with the proper authorities to ensure a smooth application process and ongoing compliance with Mississippi’s liquor laws.
If you own or are looking to open an establishment to sell alcoholic beverages Synapse can help! We offer information, guidance, and the cheapest “Credit Card Processing Fees” in the business. Contact us to learn more.